Groove Music Picks – Ultralife



Label Universal-Island Records Ltd.
Released 2017

Tracks (44:09)

  1. Ultralife (03:31)
  2. Lifetimes (03:52)
  3. High On Humans (03:11)
  4. All About You (03:02)
  5. Heavy (03:11)
  6. Bigger Than Love (03:39)
  7. Heart Strings (03:24)
  8. Slip Away (03:41)
  9. Overgrown (03:58)
  10. My Friends (04:55)
  11. Waste (04:16)
  12. Solo (03:24)


Oh Wonder

Oh Wonder

Oh Wonder is the London, England-based songwriting duo of Anthony West and Josephine Vander Gucht, who craft and sing — in unison — wispy, mostly slow-grooving, R&B-flecked tunes. Beginning in September 2014, they set out to write, record, and release one song a month for a year, culminating in their D.I.Y. debut album of keyboard and drum-machine songs. Titled Oh Wonder, it was issued in early September 2015. In the meantime, the band became an online viral sensation, garnering millions of streams; received high-profile radio play at home; and was signed to Republic Records. They also had live dates scheduled in places like London, Paris, Amsterdam, Los Angeles, and New York City sell out before the album’s arrival and before ever performing publicly. The debut went on to chart in the U.K., Ireland, the Netherlands, Switzerland, the U.S. (where it landed in the top half of the Billboard 200), and Canada (where it reached the Top 20). The follow-up, their first to be conceived as an album, was heavily influenced by the relative isolation of traveling the world on tour. With instrumentation including analog synths and actual bass, drums, and strings, the self-produced Ultralife arrived in mid-2017. ~ Marcy Donelson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s